Architectural company AECOM Philippines is to design the new Philippine Senate building after being named the winner of the Global Conceptual Design Competition.

The Senate of the Philippines adopted Senate Resolution 748 confirming the decision.

The competition for the building was launched by the Senate and the Bases Conversion and Development Authority (BCDA) in February.

A total of 24 foreign and 16 local architectural firms participated in the competition. The top five firms, namely AECOM, Aidea, Henning Larsen Architects, Leeser Architecture, and Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects, were subsequently chosen by the selection panel in March.

“Plans of relocating and constructing a permanent senate building has been proposed and considered as far back as the year 2000.”

Technical experts from the Senate, the BCDA, and academic and professional organisations from various fields such as architecture and engineering, conducted a review and technical evaluation of the final competition entries.

The resolution said: “Finding a home that the Senate of the Philippines can call its own has long been a standing dream of this institution, and plans of relocating and constructing a permanent Senate building has been proposed and considered as far back as the year 2000 during the Senate Presidency of Senator Aquilino ‘Nene’ Pimentel, Jr.”

Last September, a survey was conducted within the Senate community to select an 18,320m² area to develop the new building.

Owned by BCDA, the land is situated at the Navy Village in Fort Bonifacio, Taguig.

The resolution added: “AECOM’s 90,000 talented employees now serve clients in more than 150 countries around the world.

“They are a premier, fully integrated professional and technical services firm positioned to design, build, finance and operate infrastructure assets around the world for public-sector clients in all of the key markets, including transportation, facilities, environmental, energy, oil and gas, water, high-rise buildings and government.