Nine councils in the UK have been awarded additional government funding of £5m to develop the second phase of the eco-towns initiative.

The nine locations that will use the £5m are currently developing detailed plans.

Shoreham Harbour in West Sussex and Northstowe in Cambridgeshire required incorporation of higher sustainability standards while concepts are at an early stage at five authorities and partnerships covering ten locations in Taunton, Yeovil, the Leeds area and Lincoln.

Councils in Cornwall and the Sheffield region will carry out a survey of potential, and test alternative options.

The second-wave bids are still at an early stage and will undergo council consultation prior to public consultation and the planning process.

The nine have submitted funding plans to the government which is expected to be made by the end of 2009.

In July, the government awarded £5m for the same initiative to four councils at these sites including Whitehill-Bordon in Hampshire, St Austell (China Clay) in Cornwall, Rackheath in Norfolk and North West Bicester in Oxfordshire.