The government of New South Wales in Australia has unveiled alternative designs for two Sydney stations as a part of Sydney Metro CBD project.

In its environmental assessment report, the government has introduced plans for six stations including new alternative design plans for Pyrmont and Rozelle metro stations.

The new designs for Pyrmont station saves some of the terraces on Union Street, including the façades and bulk of the buildings from demolition.

The Pyrmont plan also extends the size of Union Square and proposes reconstruction of a Victorian-style building.

The new designs for Rozelle station features a public plaza that will showcase two of the local churches and provide walkways underneath Victoria Road.

Constructing the CBD metro route requires demolition of 33 properties and relocation of 175 business tenants.

The environmental assessment report reveals plans for six new stations at Rozelle, Pyrmont, Barangaroo-Wynyard, Martin Place, Town Hall Square and Central.