Ten areas of London that will become low-carbon zones and receive funds to carry out energy-efficiency measures have been announced by Mayor Boris Johnson.

The government has awarded £200,000 each to Lewisham Town Centre, Hackbridge, Muswell Hill, Archway, Brixton, Barking Town Centre, Wandle Valley, Ham and Petersham, Peckham, and Queen’s Park.

Each of these areas will use the fund to pioneer energy-busting measures in their chosen low-carbon zones.

The ten areas comprising of 13,000 residential properties, 1,000 shops and businesses, 20 schools and a hospital and places of worship and community centres will have to deliver 12% carbon emissions savings by 2012.