The annual LEAF Awards, honouring the best in European architecture, will be held at the Hilton London Metropole tonight.

The awards will be hosted by past Royal Institute of British Architects president Maxwell Hutchinson, who is also a regular radio and television broadcaster with BBC London and is known for designing JS Pathology’s Headquarters at Camden Lock, Aztec Row in Islington and Pink Floyd’s recording studio in Britannia Row.

This year the categories have been increased from eight to 11, including International Building of the Year, and a record 128 entries have been received.

This year’s shortlist nominees include Ben van Berkel/UNStudio’s Mercedes-Benz Museum in Stuggart, Germany and the New British Embassy by Design Engine Architects in Sana’a, Yemen.

The Young Vic theatre by Haworth Tompkins Architects is listed for Public Building of the Year (built) while the Kensington Oval by Arup makes the list for the Structural Design of the Year.

Spain’s Restaurante Arola also receives a short list nomination for its interior created by Vidal y Asociados Arquitectos while the Ribera del Duero Wine HQ, also in Spain, sees newcomer Estudio Barozzi Veiga SL nominated for Young Architect of the Year.

Last year, leading architect David Chipperfield won the Overall Winner title for his America’s Cup Foredeck Building.

Other winners included Zaha Hadid, for the Phaeno Science Centre in Wolfsburg and David Chipperfield Architects for Des Moines Public Library regeneration project in the US.

The judging panel has been chaired yet again by Peter Murray, a former editor of Building Design and the RIBA Journal.

Designbuild-network will publish the winners in tomorrow’s news.

To view the nominees visit our LEAF Awards homepage at

By Penny Jones