A car museum in Germany, a tower in Denmark, a judo club in England and a British Embassy in Yemen (by a British architect) have all made the shortlist of this year’s prestigious Leaf awards, run in conjunction with designbuild-network.

The shortlist, for the awards now in their fourth year, puts the architects on a mantel with last year’s well-known winners – David Chipperfield Architects (b270 Arguitectos), Zaha Hadid Architects (Phaeno Science Center) and 3XN (Muziekgebouw).

Competing in 11 categories against a record 128 entries, short-listed nominees have been recognised for excellence in both architecture and design.

LEAF Awards chairman Peter Murray says the awards highlight the crème of international architecture and this year’s quality of nominations only proves the high standard of architecture being created around the world.

“The significance of these prestigious awards is that they not only recognise the impact but also the innovation and practical development gone into the thinking behind these cutting edge buildings,” Murray says.

Notable European short list nominees include the Ben van Berkel/UNStudio designed Mercedes-Benz Museum in Stuggart, Germany, the New British Embassy by Design Engine Architects in Sana’a, Yemen (both for LEAF New Build of the Year) and the Scala Tower in Copenhagen, Denmark (Leaf New Build of the Year – in design).

UK public designs for the Dartfrod Judo Club by Marke Architects and the Young Vic theatre by Haworth Tompkins Architects are listed for Public Building of the Year (built) while the Kensington Oval by Arup makes the list for the Structural Design of the Year.

Spain’s Restaurante Arola also receives a short list nomination for its interior created by Vidal y Asociados Arquitectos while the Ribera del Duero Wine HQ, also in Spain, sees newcomer Estudio Barozzi Veiga SL nominated for Young Architect of the Year.

Renowned architect and past president of the Royal Institute of British Architects Maxwell Hutchinson will host the awards, which will include an overall winner as well as categories for Best Environmentally Sustainable Project, a Special Judges Award and the Best Use of Technology.

Designbuild-network will release individual details of nominees and projects in the next week.

By Penny Jones